Author Archives: admin

Stephanie Gilmore

Three-time world champion Stephanie Gilmore is set to be inducted into the Surfers’ Hall of Fame. Gilmore, the youngest-ever inductee at age 22, has already captured U.S. Open of Surfing and Vans Triple Crown titles in addition to three consecutive ASP women’s world titles. Earlier this year, she was [...]
Posted in 2010, Inductees | Tagged , , | Comments closed

Ian “Kanga” Cairns

Against the backdrop of the mega surf contest that he helped shape, Ian “Kanga” Cairns will enter the 2010 Surfers’ Hall of Fame this August.  Winner of the 1973 Smirnoff Pro and 1975 Duke Kahanamoku Classic, Cairns was the premier “power” surfer of his era and dominated the North Shore during the mid to late-seventies. Known [...]
Posted in 2010 | Tagged , , | Comments closed

Dick Baker to be inducted to Surfers’ Hall Of Fame

Who: You Are invited What: Dick Baker Surfers’ Hall Of Fame Induction Where: In Front of Huntington Surf & Sport – 300 Pacific Coast Hwy, Huntington Beach, CA When: Thursday Dec. 10th 5pm We are celebrating the life and contributions of Dick Baker. Come join the festivities.
Posted in 2009 | Comments closed

Chris Hawk – Inducted to Hall Of Fame

Come join us for the Surfers’ Hall Of Fame Induction of Chris Hawk. Ceremony starts at 10 a.m. on Friday, September 18th 2009. Ceremony will be held at Huntington Surf & Sport on Main St. & PCH (300 Pacific Coast HWY).
Posted in 2009, Inductees | Tagged , | Comments closed

2009 Surfers’ Hall Of Fame Inductees

The nation’s first imprint collection of legendary surfers celebrates its 12th Anniversary in July with a ceremony honoring iconic surfers Jeff “Mr. Sunset” Hakman, Bruce Brown, Joey Buran and Pat O’Connell. The Surfers’ Hall of Fame induction ceremony is free-of-charge and open to the public.
Posted in Inductees | Comments closed

Joey Buran

The “California Kid” Joey Buran is joining Jeff Hakman, Bruce Brown and Pat O’Connell as the 2009 inductees into the Surfers’ Hall of Fame, at 10 a.m. Friday, July 24 in front of Huntington Surf & Sport (corner of PCH and Main).  A former Pipeline Masters Champion and the first California surfer to win a [...]
Posted in 2009, Inductees | Comments closed

Pat O’Connell

Born in Chicago in 1971, Pat O’Connell spent the first 12 years of his life landlocked.  It wasn’t until the early 80’s when Pat’s family moved to Newport Beach (then Dana Point) that Pat would develop his one-of-a-kind, surf-stoked enthusiasm.  After successfully negotiating the NSSA, PSAA and Bud Surf Tours, Pat’s competitive career took a [...]
Posted in 2009, Inductees | Tagged | Comments closed

Bruce Brown

In 1964, filmmaker Bruce Brown decided to follow two surfers around the world in search of a perfect wave.  On a budget of only $50,000 and armed with a 16mm camera, he captured the essence, the adventure, and the art of surfing in the renowned The Endless Summer.  Bruce, who started surfing at age 11 [...]
Posted in 2009, Inductees | Tagged | Comments closed